Thursday, September 29, 2011

Craddock, Parker, Folds among NC Music Hall of Fame inductees

The North Carolina Music Hall of Fame in Kannapolis will induct eight new members Thursday, October 13 during a ceremony and dinner at the David H. Murdock Core Laboratory Building (Cannon Village, 150 Research Campus Dr., Kannapolis). The event begins at 6 p.m. Tickets are $70.

This year's inductees include:

  • Billy “Crash” Craddock – Country and Rockabilly recording legend from Greensboro.
  • Anthony Dean Griffey – Grammy award-winning opera tenor from High Point.
  • Maceo Parker – Jazz/funk saxophone player and James Brown sideman from Kinston.
  • Ben Folds – songwriter/alternative rock musician from Winston-Salem.
  • Michael English – Contemporary Christian recording artist from Wallace.
  • Clyde Moody – Bluegrass singer, songwriter, musician from Cherokee.
  • Billy Edd Wheeler – songwriter, playwright, author from Swannanoa.
  • John D. Loudermilk – pop and country songwriter from Durham.
Ronnie Milsap, Donna Fargo, Arthur Smith, Doc Watson, Maurice Williams, James Taylor, Ben E. King, Shirley Caesar, Roberta Flack, Earl Scruggs, and Kannapolis' own George Clinton are among those who have already been inducted.

For a full list of inductees and more information about the NC Music Hall of Fame visit

1 comment :

  1. What, No Charlotte artists? Haven't they heard Charlotte is the cultural capital of the southeast!